miércoles, 11 de febrero de 2015

February 11: Henry VIII is recognized as the head of the Church of England in 1531.

The Church of England is the officially established Christian religion in England and known worldwide as the Anglican Communion.

The Anglican Church considers itself within the tradition of Western Christianity and celebrates its formal establishment because of the mission that took Augustine of Canterbury in 597. Consequently, the Church of England came under the authority of the Pope.

1531 Henry VIII of England was recognized as supreme head of the Protestant Church of England.

Augustine of Canterbury was a Benedictine monk founding the Church in England, and he was honored with the appointment of first Archbishop of Canterbury. That is why he is considered "The Apostle of England" and founder of the Church.

Augustine was the prior of a Benedictine monastery in Rome. Pope Gregory I, "The Great", chose him for the mission to evangelize all the inhabitants of Britain Island. The mission went to religious history as the "Gregorian Mission" focused on "Christianizing" the Anglo-Saxon paganism.

King Henry married Catherine of Aragon but could not have children, so the King started flirting with Mary Boleyn, Catherine´s chaperone. It has been speculated that the king had two children with Mary.

The six wives of Henry VIII

Over time, Henry VIII was falling in love with Anne Boleyn's sister Mary. He began what is known in history as "The Great Subject del Rey" (The King's Great Matter) consisting of the options I had the king for his divorce from Catherine with the annulment of his marriage and to get marriage to Anne Boleyn.

Henry VIII and his six wives

Pope Clement VII refused to approve the annulment of Henry VIII's marriage to Catherine of Aragon and that caused the rupture between the Church of England and the Roman Catholic Church. In 1534, there was the separation of church and by a legal act of the Parliament Act of Supremacy which led to the English Reformation call was issued.