jueves, 10 de diciembre de 2015

December 10: The 1898 Treaty of Paris, signed on 10 December 1898 ended the Spanish-American War and by which Spain abandoned its demands on Cuba, which declared its independence. Philippines, Guam and Puerto Rico were officially handed over to the United States for 20 million dollars.

The Treaty of Paris of 1898 is considered the endpoint of the Spanish Empire overseas and the beginning of the period of colonial power of the United States.

The Spanish-American War had a quick and predictable outcome, because the US arms superiority. In late July 1898, and still during the war, Spain began to negotiate an end to hostilities by the French ambassador in Washington DC, Jules Cambon.

Spain feared that the conflict is moved across the Atlantic and endanger the Canary Islands, the Balearic Islands and other Spanish possessions in North Africa and Equatorial Guinea.