domingo, 12 de julio de 2015

July 12: Liechtenstein acquired full sovereignty and access to the Confederation of the Rhine in 1806.

Administrative divisions of Liechtenstein

Today is the anniversary of independence of the Principality of Liechtenstein and its access to the Confederation of the Rhine. Its name comes from Castle Liechtenstein in Lower Austria.

Locator Map of Liechtenstein

The principality has 160 km2 and a population of 35,000 inhabitants. Actually, there are more people in Liechtenstein that have the highest GDP per capita in the world.

Johann I Joseph, Prince of Liechtenstein from 1805 to 1806 and 1814 to 1836.

The House of Liechtenstein that governs currently has its origin in distant Silesia. Liechtenstein dynasty, from which the Principality takes its name, was among the most powerful noble families of Germany at the end of the Middle Ages. Despite this, and although ruled large territories in Germany, they were granted in feudalism under the rule of lords, especially the House of Habsburg.


There is, virtually, no debt or unemployment. Charles VI, Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire, ruled in 1719 and united the city of Vaduz (now the capital) and Schellenberg in order to constitute the Principality of Liechtenstein.

A map of the Confederation of the Rhine.

Napoleonic Wars founded the Confederation of the Rhine on July 12, 1806, which brought together 16 Germanic principalities, as one French protectorate. With the defeat of Napoleon in 1813 at the Battle of Leipzig, also known as the "Battle of the Nations", French troops were defeated and forced to retreat in France.

HSH Prince Hans-Adam II of Liechtenstein and HSH Princess Marie Aglaë

The Confederation of the Rhine changed its name to the German Confederation, after the defeat of Napoleon I.