domingo, 30 de agosto de 2015

August 30: The people of East Timor (Official name:Timor Leste) voted for independence in 1999 through a referendum for independence from Indonesia.

Location of East Timor

The Timor island was conquered and colonized by the Portuguese in the sixteenth century and was known as Portuguese Timor until the "Carnation Revolution" in April 1974 when a military coup ended more than 40 years of government "Fascists" in Portugal. Even with the fall of the right-wing government, also the period of Portuguese colonization began.

In late 1975, East Timor declared its independence from Portugal, but the Indonesian dictator Suharto took the opportunity and invaded East Timor, while declaring it as its 27th province.

A demonstration for independence from Indonesia held in Australia during September 1999. Indonesia's occupation of East Timor ...

In 1999, after an event sponsored by the United Nations to self-determination, Indonesia relinquished control of the territory, and East Timor became the first new sovereign state of the twenty-first century. In fact, on May 20, 2002, East Timor was admitted as a member of the United Nations, in addition to becoming a member of the Community of Portuguese Speaking Countries.

... East Timor & Indonesia straddle Oceania & Asia | by

Timor Leste, thus, left behind an era of terror imposed by the dictator Suharto who was determined to annihilate any nationalist movement.

Major language groups in East Timor 

The official name is the Democratic Republic of East Timor. The demonym is Timorese and their form of government is parliamentary republic with a president as head of state and a prime minister as head of government.

An East Timorese in traditional dress