martes, 24 de marzo de 2015

March 24: The Emperor Go-Yosei of Japan granted the first title of Shogun to Tokugawa Ieyasu and so was born the Tokugawa shogunate in Edo then, now Tokyo, Japan in 1603.

Emperor Go-Yōzei ruled Japan from December 31, 1571 until September 25, 1617.

Tokugawa Ieyasu was the founder and first shogun of the Tokugawa Japanese Empire that ruled from the Battle of Sekigahara in 1600 until the Meiji Restoration of 1668. The Tokugawa Shogunate was, actually, a feudal Japanese military government who ruled from Edo Castle.

Tokugawa Ieyasu, first Tokugawa shogun 

Leyazu seized power in 1600, he was appointed shogun in 1603, when he was 60 years old and two years later abdicated but continued to use the power until his death in 1616. Japanese power is exercised from Edo, now Tokyo.

"View of Edo" (Edo zu) pair of six-panel folding screens (17th century). Upper middle of first panel, left screen. Central enciente of Edo Castle, Castle Tower, Bairinzaka, Hirakawaguchi Gate.

The term Shogun resembles an army commander in chief. The legacy of the Shogunate persists. Currently, the head of state in Japan is the Emperor; but the head of government is the Prime Minister. However, the term "Shogun" seems to persist.

The Empire of Japan with its provinces, done by Englebert Keampfer in 1727.

When a Prime Minister withdraws, still holds political power with considerable influence, so respectfully nicknamed as "Yami Shogun" or a "shadow shogun", as has happened with Kakuei Tanaka Ichiro Ozawa and recently.