viernes, 17 de abril de 2015

April 17: China and Japan sign the Treaty of Shimonoseki, in 1895, to end the First Sino-Japanese War. Qing Dynasty had to give up his claims on the Korean Peninsula, in addition to granting the southern portion of the Province of Fengtien, Taiwan, and the Pescadores Islands to Japan.

Chinese surrenders to japanese.

Japanese expansion had begun in August 1, 1894, and the new "Empire of the Sun" wanted total control of Korea. The First Sino-Japanese War lasted until April 17, 1985. The Chinese Qing Dynasty was defeated by the Japanese army.

On April 17, 1895, Qing China and Meiji Japan signed the Treaty of Shimonoseki, which ended the First Sino-Japanese War.

China was defeated and had to sue for peace which was embodied in the Treaty of Shimonoseki, signed on April 17, 1895. The Treaty was an agreement to conclude the Sino-Japanese War.

Treaty of Shimonoseki (Treaty of Maguan)

The Treaty of Shimonoseki

The Treaty begins by recognizing the full and complete independence of Korea with autonomy. Korea did not have to continue to tribute to China. In Article 2 of the Treaty, China cedes in perpetuity full sovereignty the following territories: The southern part of the Province of Fengtien; the island of Formosa (Taiwan), with accompanying archipelago; Group Pescadores Islands between 119 and 120 degrees longitude east of Greenwich and 23 and 24 degrees north latitude. Additionally, indemnity clauses war for Japan and other supplies are covered.

'Articles 2 & 3: China cedes to Japan in perpetuity and full sovereignty of the Penghu group, Taiwan and the eastern portion of the bay of Liaodong Peninsula together with all fortifications, arsenals and public property.'