martes, 19 de mayo de 2015

May 19: Mustafa Kemal Atatürk reached the Turkish city of Samsun on the Black Sea coast of northern Anatolia to start the Turkish War of Independence in 1919.

Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, c. 1916

Turkish Liberation War was fought between Turkish nationalists against the Allies of World War I better known as The Triple Entente: Great Britain, France and Russia.

The Triple Alliance in 1913, shown in red.

"The Triple Understanding" between Britain, France and Russia was a response to the formation of the Triple Alliance (Dreibund, in German) which promoted Otto von Bismark of the German Empire, the Austro-Hungarian and Italian Empire (the latter was bribed by Britain and France) and instead entered the Turkish-Ottoman Empire.

As the Triple Alliance was defeated, then Turkey was held by the "Allies" (Britain and France) and, therefore, a Turkish nationalist movement arose led by Mustafa Kemal Atatürk who managed the Turkish independence, and founded the Republic of Turkey today is triggered.

resimleri: mareşal gazi mustafa kemal atatürk

The "Allies" left the Eastern Thrace. The Grand National Assembly of Turkey decided to establish the Republic of Turkey, and abolish the Sultanate of the Ottoman Empire. The Turkish completed their nationalism thanks to the reforms presented and led by Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, and thus was born the modern nation-state of Turkey.

Belgium, Czechoslovakia (now Czech Republic and Slovakia), Montenegro, Romania and Serbia, were secondary members of the Triple Entente of France, Britain and Russia. America got and declared war on Germany ... in the end, all against Germany!