sábado, 30 de mayo de 2015

May 30: Today is the anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Paris in 1814 by virtue of which Napoleon Bonaparte was exiled on the island of Elba, and French Border returned to its origins before the French Revolution of 1789.

The bicentenary of the Congress of Vienna (1814–1815). Oxford Historical Treaties

The Treaty of Paris was signed on May 30, 1814 which ended the war between France and the Sixth Coalition formed by the United Kingdom, Russia, Austria, Sweden, Portugal and Prussia. It also forced the abdication of Napoleon I, and also restored the Bourbon in the figure of Louis XVIII.

The boundaries set by the Congress of Vienna, 1815.

France also signed by the representative of Louis XVIII, Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand-Perigord, better known as Talleyrand, accepting all the clauses of the Treaty.

The face of Defeat - Napoleon broods over the fall of Paris at Fontainebleau

The winning coalition (all Europe against Napoleon) ordered the Exile of Napoleon on the island of Elba and reinstated the monarchy in France at the head of Louis XVIII, brother of Louis XVI who was guillotined during the Revolution.

Map of Europe after the Treaty of Paris 1814

However, the victorious forces were aware of the possibility that France were to take over agreements with other states and with that in mind, the surrounding territories to France were reinforced. Those territories were called "buffer states" to block any future French attempt to conquer Europe again. These States were Belgium and the Netherlands, on the northeast; Switzerland, on the southeast; and the Kingdom of Sardinia, on the south.

Elba is the largest remaining stretch of land from the ancient tract that once connected the Italian peninsula to Corsica.