domingo, 18 de octubre de 2015

October 18: Today is anniversary of the end of the "War of the Austrian Succession" by signing the Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle in 1748.

The Kingdom of Prussia was the result of the union of Brandenburg and the Polish Duchy of Prussia in 1701, led by the Brandenburg Hohenzollern family, as a result of the Treaty of Utrecht, signed in 1713, when King Frederick William I ruled until 1740, when started the War of Austrian Succession.

Frederick II of Prussia invaded Silesia, and Maria Theresa, Empress of the Holy Roman Empire (Headquarters Vienna, Austria) requested assistance from European kings but did not have the military support she expected.

There began the rivalry between Austria and Prussia, leading German nationalism and its primacy over Austria.

The Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle, signed on October 18, 1748, ended the "War of the Austrian Succession"; but it led to the Seven Years' War, which moved to America in 1754, as a result of territorial rivalry between France and Britain for control of the territory of North America.