jueves, 10 de septiembre de 2015

September 10: Austria and its allies signed the Treaty of Saint-Germain recognizing the independence of Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia, in 1919.

Treaty of Peace between the Allied Powers and Austria: Signing ceremony, Austrian chancellor Renner addressing the delegates.

Allied victors in World War I, signed several peace treaties with each of the defeated nations. Austria, Bulgaria, Hungary, and Turkey were forced to sign some treaties which they were not allowed to review. Conditions were imposed upon the losers.

Dissolution of Austria-Hungary.

As a matter of fact, the famous Treaty of Versailles was signed with Germany ending the First World War, but was one of several treaties that Allied victors made to sign the losers.

Two treaties from WWI that are overshadowed by the Treaty of Versailles, which the Germans of 1920 were forced to sign, were theTreaty of Saint-Germain between the Allied Powers and Austria, and the Treaty of Trianon between the Allies and Hungary.  

Subsequent to the signing of treaties Small caps were in order: The Treaty of Saint Germain, signed with Austria; the Treaty of Trianon, signed with Hungary; the Treaty of Neuilly, signed with Bulgaria; and the Treaty of Sevres with Turkey.

In short, the Treaty of Saint-Germain ended the Austro-Hungarian Empire from whose dissolution emerged Austria, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, and Yugoslavia. Payments were demanded by war reparations and limitations of the defeated armies were established.