martes, 15 de septiembre de 2015

September 15: Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica jointly declared their independence from Spain in 1821.

The five countries of the former Captaincy General eventually formed the Federal Republic of Central America in 1821.

On September 15, 1821, the Captaincy General of Guatemala which was made by Costa Rica, Chiapas, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua, proclaimed its independence from Spain officially.

A painting by Chilean painter Luis Vergara Ahumada, depicting the signing of the Act by Father José Matías Delgado.

The Act of Independence of Central America is a legal document by which the Province of Guatemala proclaimed its independence from the Spanish Empire.

The existence of the United Provinces of Central America was formed as Lander born on July 1, 1823 and ended on 22 November 1824. All these territories belonged to the Captaincy General of Guatemala, part of the Spanish Empire and under the Viceroyalty of New Spain (today Mexico).

In proclaiming their independence, they became part of the First Empire of Mexico. After Mexican Emperor Agustin Iturbide´s abdication in 1823, Central America jointly formed a Federation of its own.